10440 108 Avenue, Edmonton
The Edmonton Drill Hall / Prince of Wales Armouries is a massive, brick and sandstone structure, with distinctive corner towers, evocative of medieval castle design. A steel superstructure supporting a large convex interior roof structure accommodates the clear span required for the purpose-built military drill hall interior. It’s impressive massing sits comfortably on the five-acre institutional site just north of Edmonton’s downtown.
The Edmonton Drill Hall / Prince of Wales Armouries is important for its association with Edmonton’s military contribution during WWI and WWII. Its design was unique to Edmonton and representative of Canadian military drill hall design of the period.
Completed in 1915 for Department of National Defense, the Edmonton Drill Hall / Prince of Wales Armouries is significant for its role as Edmonton’s long-term training facility for Canada’s armed forces and for its contribution to the organization, and mobilization of Canada’s military. It became the home of a number of prominent regiments, such as the 51st battalion and the 233rd French-Canadian Battalion during WWI, later, it served as a base for 101st Edmonton Fusiliers, The Loyal Edmonton Regiment and the 49th Regiment.
Originally named The Edmonton Drill Hall, it was renamed the Prince of Wales Armouries in 1921 and was used as a military training site by the Department of National Defence until 1977.
The Edmonton Drill Hall / Prince of Wales Armouries is significant for its scale, massing and medieval castle inspired design. Designed and constructed as a part of a national military training initiative, it is similar to other Drill Halls designed by the Federal Department of Public Works.
The character defining elements as expressed in the form, massing, and materials of the 1915 brick and stone façades such as:
- Edmonton Historical Board
Edmonton Historical Board Plaque Award
Provincial Historic Resource (January 31, 1979)
Municipal Historic Resource (August 31, 2004)